Search This Blog

Monday, October 12, 2020

NavDurga (Nabadurga) Navratri | Festivals of India | Quiz - 2

1. The Navratri commences with the 1st night devoted to the puja of Maa "Shailputri". "Shail" means mountains; "Parvati", the daughter of king of Mountains _________, is known as "Shailputri". Her 2 hands, display a trident and a lotus. She is mounted upon a bull.

2. Worshipped on the 2nd night, this menifestation of Maa Durga holds a "Kumbha" or water port in one hand and the rosary in the other hand. She personifies love and loyalty and is a store-house of knowledge and wisdom. Rudraksha is her most adorned ornament. What is the name of the Goddess we worship on 2nd night of Navratri?
Maa Brahmacharini
Maa Kushmanda
Maa Skandmata
Maa Katyayani
3. Worshipped on the 3rd night this Maa Durga "Shakti" is astride a tiger, displays a golden hue to Her skin, possesses ten hands and 3 eyes. Eight of Her hands display weapons while the remaining two are respectively in the mudras of gestures of boon giving and stopping harm. ___________, meaning supreme bliss and knowledge, showering peace and serenity, like cool breeze in a moonlit night.
Maa Brahmacharini
Maa Kushmanda
Maa Chandraghanta
Maa Katyayani
4. The 4th night begins the worship of Maa "Kushmanda", possessed of eight arms, holding weapons and a mala or rosary. Her mount is a tiger and She emanates a solar like aura. "Kumbh Bhand" means to see cosmic vivacity in Pindi shape or knowledge of cosmic intricacies in human race. Where is the abode of Maa "Kushmanda"?
5. Devi Maa Skandamata is the form of Hindu Goddess Durga. Literally meaning Mother of Skanda, Skanda is another name for war god and her son Kartikeya and Mata is the term for mother.As one of the Navadurga, her worship takes place on the _________ night of Navaratri(the nine divine nights of Navadurga).
6. Devi Maa Katyayani is one of the main forms of the Goddess Durga. She is seen as the slayer of the tyrannical demon Mahishasura. This Shakti is also astride a lion with 3 eyes and 4 arms. One left hand holds a weapon and the other a lotus. The other 2 hands respectively display defending and granting gestures. Her complexion is golden coloured. She is the __________ form of Maa Durga.
7. Devi Maa Kalaratri (Kaalratri) is the seventh of the nine forms of the Goddess Durga, known as the Navadurga. Devi Maa Kaalratri has black skin with bountiful hair and 4 hands, 2 clutching a cleaver and a torch, while the remaining 2 are in the mudras of "giving" and "protecting". She is mounted upon a Donkey. The destroyer of darkness and ignorance, Maa "Kalaratri" is the seventh form of Nav-Durga meaning scourer of darkness; enemy of darkness. She is first referenced in the Durga Saptashati, of the which Purana, the earliest known literature on the Goddess Durga?
8. Devi Maa Mahagauri is worshipped on the eighth day of Navaratri. She has four arms with the fairest complexion of all the Durga Shaktis. Peace and compassion radiate from Her being and she is often dressed in a white or green sari. She holds a drum and a trident and is often depicted riding which animal?
9. Devi Maa Siddhidhatri is the ninth form of the Goddess Durga or Parvati , the meaning of her name is as follows: Siddhi means supernatural power or meditative ability, and Dhatri means giver or awarder. She is worshipped on the ninth day of Navaratri (nine nights of Navadurga). Devi Maa Siddhidatri is most commonly ensconced upon a lotus, with 4 arms, and is the possessor of 26 different wishes to grant Her bhakts. It is believed that one side of _________’s body is that of Goddess Siddhidatri. Therefore, he is also known by the name of Ardhanarishwar.
Lord Shiva
Lord Vishnu
Lord Brahma
Lord Ram
10. The Devi Mahatmya or Devi Mahatmyam (Glory of the Goddess) is a Hindu religious text describing the Goddess as the supreme power and creator of the universe. It is part of the Markandeya Purana, and estimated to have been composed in Sanskrit between 400-600 CE. Devi Mahatmyam is also known as the _______________________. The text contains 700 verses arranged into 13 chapters. Along with Devi-Bhagavata Purana and Shakta Upanishads such as the Devi Upanishad, it is one of the most important texts of Shaktism (goddess) tradition within Hinduism.
Durga Saptashati
Both Durga Saptashati or ChandiPath

Navratri Quiz - 1

Your score =

Score in percentage =

You correctly answered questions number =

Correct Answers 1 =

Correct Answers 2 =

Correct Answers 3 =

Correct Answers 4 =

Correct Answers 5 =

Correct Answers 6 =

Correct Answers 7 =

Correct Answers 8 =

Correct Answers 9 =

Correct Answers 10 =